top of page
Writer's pictureFarisa Akbar

BUKHARI RICE

Updated: Oct 7, 2020

"Flavorful and Aromatic Saudi Arabian Rice Dish topped with Fried carrots, Raisin and Toasted Nuts"



Long Long time again!!! I have been too busy with the current E-Learning thing that I hardly find any time for blogging. and got lazy too, and also couldn't find any time too. This video was taken in July and it took me 10 days to edit the video (which could actually be done in 1 day). So I have been too busy with everyone and everything around that I hardly find any time. So I am back again with a favorite dish at our home. Its an easy one pot dish (yeah for grilling you need one more) which is my easy substitute for Biriyani on Fridays on my lazy days. I got introduced to this dish by my husband who have been praising about Bukhari Rice for so long and I didn't even care to even try it when I heard him say its a bit sweetish kind of rice with loads of raisins and carrots. I was wondering rice and sweet? Naah!!! This won't work out for me. But then one day he was craving for Bukhari Rice and Finally I gave it a try. And then, Now Bukhari rice is my Favorite. I loved that sweetishness of raisins and carrots perfectly blending with the chicken and Rice.



This rice does not need too much of ingredients, these are the ingredients which are easily available at your kitchen. Only the extra work you need to do is cutting the carrots. The house will definitely be filled with the aroma of the Bukhari Rice.


 

INGREDIENTS:


Ghee - 6 Tbsp

Onion - 2 (Sliced)

Pepper Powder - 1/2 Tbsp

Salt - As Required

Bay Leaf - 3 to 4

Cumin Powder - 1 Tbsp

Cardamom - 4

Cardamom Powder - 1/2 tsp

Nutmeg Powder - 1/2 tsp

Chicken - 1 kg (with Skin)

Tomato Paste - 1.5 Tbsp

Water - 4.5 Cups

Rice - 3 Cups

Carrot - 3 Cups (Julienne cut)

Raisins - 1/2 Cup

Almonds - 1/4 Cup (Sliced)


Marinade


Butter - 1 Tbsp

Tomato Paste - 1 tsp

Pepper Powder - 1/4 tsp

Cumin Powder - 1/4 tsp

Salt - 1/4 tsp


DIRECTIONS:


1. In a pan, add 3 Tbsp Ghee, add in the onions and saute untill it turns translucent.

2. Add in the Pepper Powder, Salt, Bay Leaf, Cumin Powder, Cardamom, Cardamom Powder, Nutmeg Powder.

3. Once the ingredients are mixed well, add in the chicken. Cook both sides of the chicken untill t the chicken is browned.

4. Add in the Tomato Paste and Mix well.

5. Pour water and allow the chicken to cook.

6. While the Chicken is cooking, Pour ghee into a pan and fry the carrots and raisins. Also toast the almonds.

7. Once the Chicken is cooked, Keep aside and add rice into it along with a handful of fried c carrots. Allow the rice to cook and once the rice is cooked, Fluff the rice.

8. Now Marinate the Chicken withe marinade mentioned above. Grill the chicken in a grill pan untill all the sides of the chicken are grilled.

9. Now to Serve, Place the fried carrots and raisins on top the rice and finally the grilled chicken on top of the Rice.



75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page